Le Point goes digital with 4D Concept

December, 2019

Le Point goes digital with 4D Concept

Context

Founded in 1972, Le Point is one of the main weekly news magazines with reference information on political, economic, social, technological, sports, scientific, automotive and cultural news in France and around the world.

It occupies in particular the first place of news magazines in newsstand sales. Since the early 2000s, Le Point has undergone strong circulation growth. In 2013/2014, this stood at 391,292 copies (DFP OJD 2013-2014).

Built on the solid journalistic values​of rigor, independence and proximity Le Point attracts a rich and influential readership. It was the first Premium magazine (excluding TV magazines, according to Premium audipresse 2014).

With more than 2 million readers each week, Le Point is the favorite magazine of very high-income French people. lepoint.fr, a general information website, provides its visitors with continuous information including opinion pieces, exclusive articles, videos, slideshows, debates and blogs.

In 2014, it attracted an average audience of nearly 5 million unique visitors and 66,000,000 page views (Médiamétrie). Since 2017, the site has been enhanced with paying articles.

On iPad, iPhone and Android, the Le Point HD application allows users to download the issue in enhanced version (video, sound, photo, …) from every Wednesday evening.

Le Point now offers several other magazines that are also broadcast in a multi-channel: Le Point Afrique, L’Argus des Montres, Le Point Golf, Le Point Etudiants, Guide des Vins, Vino Bravo.

The challenge

In 2013, Le Point magazine wanted to renovate its production and editorial management tools in order to adapt its production to the digital transformation in the press sector.

As a first step, Le Point wanted to replace its existing editorial back office, which was becoming obsolete and posed problems in terms of maintenance and adding features. The magazine was slow in accessing its internal resources: regular data archiving made the resources unavailable for business use.

Secondly, Le Point wanted to automatically categorize and enrich information from different sources: images and articles from print feeds, regional and national daily and weekly newspapers, existing research archives, AFP, etc. The different origins of the data did not help the search for information. Changes in data over time and in quantity required an adaptive technology and editorial system.

These needs concerned two professions in the editorial chain of the magazine: journalists and researchers. An innovative cross-media publishing process was necessary to help to better integrate them.

The solution 

4D Concept met the different needs of the magazine by suggesting a customized, innovative solution that was suitable to the problems of the then current cross-media distribution.

The proposed solution consisted in associating a system that was both authorial and editorial and that managed the content editing, editorial workflow and production follow-up with a flow aggregation module to bring together information from different sources, enrich it and allow its direct use by researchers and journalists. This solution is based on MarkLogic technology, a native XML database that meets multichannel publishing, volumetric and durability constraints.

Outcome: 4D Concept solutions brought many benefits to journalists and researchers at Le Point magazine. The editorial teams of the magazine gained in response time when writing an article and enhancing it with the media. The system also facilitated research related to a theme which led to unparalleled time-saving by researchers. They were able to build a very rich database supporting a large amount of different data, connected to Wikidata and Geonames. The wealth of information was now brought under control and organized within the same system that allows them to react and offer articles that were richly illustrated, indexed and published quickly. In short, Le Point‘s investment in the XMS editorial system was a suitable choice, helping along the exchanges between the various stakeholders within the editorial chain.

Vous avez un besoin ou un projet ? Laissez-nous un message.

You authorize 4D Concept to send you newsletters

Le Point

décembre, 2018

Le Point passe au numérique avec 4D Concept

Contexte

Fondé en 1972, Le Point est l’un des principaux newsmagazines hebdomadaires d’information de référence sur l’actualité politique, économique, sociale, technologique, sportive, scientifique, automobile et culturelle en France et dans le monde.

Il occupe notamment la première place des magazines d’actualité en vente kiosque. Le Point connaît, depuis le début des années 2000, une forte croissance de sa diffusion. En 2013/2014, celle-ci est de 391 292 exemplaires (DFP OJD 2013-2014).

Construit sur les valeurs sûres du journalisme – rigueur, indépendance, proximité – Le Point s’adresse à un lectorat riche et influent. Il est le premier magazine Premium (hors TV magazine, audipresse Premium 2014).

Avec plus de 2 millions de lecteurs chaque semaine, Le Point est le magazine préféré des Français à très hauts revenus. lepoint.fr, site d’information généraliste, fournit à ses visiteurs une information en continu incluant opinions, articles exclusifs, vidéos, diaporamas, débats et blogs.

En 2014, il a réuni une audience moyenne de près de 5 millions de visiteurs uniques et 66 000 000 de pages vues (Médiamétrie). Le site est, depuis 2017, enrichi par des articles payants.

Sur iPad, iPhone et Android, l’application Le Point HD permet le téléchargement du numéro en version enrichie (vidéo, son, photo, …) dès le mercredi soir.

Le Point propose aujourd’hui plusieurs autres magazines qui sont également diffusés de façon multi-canal : Le Point Afrique, L’Argus des Montres, Le Point Golf, Le Point Etudiants, Guide des Vins, Vino Bravo.

Problématique

En 2013, le magazine Le Point souhaitait rénover ses outils de production et de gestion éditoriale de façon à adapter sa production à la mutation numérique que connaît le secteur de la presse.

Dans un premier temps, Le Point souhaitait remplacer son backoffice éditorial existant, qui devenait obsolète et posait des problèmes en termes de maintenance et d’ajout de fonctionnalités. Le magazine subissait des lenteurs d’accès à ses ressources internes : un archivage des données régulier rendait les ressources indisponibles pour une utilisation métier.

Dans un second temps, Le Point voulait catégoriser et enrichir automatiquement des informations provenant de sources hétérogènes : images et articles des flux print, presse quotidienne et hebdomadaire régionale, nationale, archives existantes des documentalistes, AFP… L’hétérogénéité des données ne facilitait pas le travail de recherche d’information. L’évolution des données dans le temps et en quantité nécessitait une technologie et un système éditorial adaptatifs.

Ces besoins concernaient deux métiers de la chaîne éditoriale du magazine : les journalistes et les documentalistes. Un processus novateur de publication cross-média devrait permettre de mieux les intégrer.

Solution apportée

4D Concept répond aux différents besoins du magazine en proposant une solution personnalisée, novatrice s’adaptant aux problématiques de la diffusion cross-média actuelle.

La solution proposée consiste à associer un système à la fois rédactionnel et éditorial gérant la partie édition de contenus, workflow éditorial et suivi de production avec un module d’agrégation de flux pour fédérer l’information provenant des sources hétérogènes, l’enrichir et permettre son exploitation directe par les documentalistes et les journalistes. Cette solution s’appuie sur la technologie MarkLogic, base de données native XML répondant aux contraintes de publication multicanal, de volumétrie et de pérennité.

Résultat : Les solutions 4D Concept procurent de nombreux avantages aux journalistes et aux documentalistes du magazine Le Point. Les équipes éditoriales du magazine gagnent en réactivité lors de la rédaction d’un article et de son enrichissement avec des médias. Le système facilite également les recherches liées à une thématique ce qui offre aux documentalistes un gain de temps inégalé. Ils peuvent construire une base de données très riche supportant une grande quantité de données hétérogènes, connectée à Wikidata et Géonames. La richesse de l’information est dorénavant maîtrisée et organisée au sein d’un même système qui permet de réagir et proposer des articles richement illustrés, indexés et publiés rapidement. En résumé, l’investissement du magazine Le Point pour le système éditorial XMS a été un choix pertinent, facilitant les échanges entre les différents intervenants au sein de la chaîne éditoriale.

Vous avez un besoin ou un projet ? Laissez-nous un message.

Vous autorisez 4D Concept à vous envoyer des newsletters